About Us

Sign up for our email list:

The Schenectady County Historical Society brings to life the region’s dynamic history through interactive exhibits, talks, workshops, concerts, programs and community events for all audiences at the Mabee Farm Historic Site, the Grems-Doolittle Library, the Schenectady History Museum, and the historic Brouwer House.

The Schenectady County Historical Society continues to change and grow, and we are more active than ever in presenting vibrant programming. Please visit our events calendar to find information about upcoming events.


The Schenectady County Historical Society shares stories, inspires dialogue, and encourages understanding of the history, people, and cultures of Schenectady County.


The Schenectady County Historical Society strengthens our community as an increasingly vital destination and resource for exploring history.

You may view an abridged version of our 2019 Strategic Plan here as well as our Bylaws and Constitution.

Financial Support

The Schenectady County Historical Society is a private, not-for-profit organization. We are wholly supported by the dues of our members, interest and dividends earned on bequests willed to us, fees for admission and service, and sales in our two gift shops. Please consider supporting our mission in preserving and promoting Schenectady County’s history by making a gift, becoming a member ,or sponsoring us through your business.


Board of Trustees
President: Robert Weible Vice President: Richard Lewis Secretary: Robert Sullivan Treasurer: John Halstead Immediate Past President: Marianne Blanchard Trustees through April 2020 Marianne Blanchard Thomas Dunn Carolina Lazzari Laura Lee Kim Mabee Robert Sullivan Dale Wade-Keszey John Woodward Trustees through April 2021 Robert Carney Ellen Fladger John Halstead Sarah Kirby Christopher Leonard Richard Lewis Kevin Richard-Morrow Martin Strosberg Trustees through April 2022 Philip Fields John Gearing Mark Vermilyea Robert Weible
Staff Contacts

Mary Zawacki, Executive Director
518-374-0263, option 4 (please email)

Mary Treanor, Administrative Officer
518-374-0263, option 5

Marietta Carr, Librarian/Archivist
518-374-0263, option 3

Susanna Fout, Exhibitions and Collections Manager
518-374-0263, option 4 (please email)

Michael Diana, Education and Programs Manager
518-887-5073 (please email)

John Ackner, Facilities Manager